top of page

Birth Photography

And on the camera that contains the birth photography--

Justin says, "Cat, don't go back too far. Just look at the pictures from the last few days."

But I keep clicking.

Back and back--December, November, then

October 20

Oh, eight days postpartum. I'm in a maternity dress and sandals. It's sunny and I squint at the camera. I'm sitting on our front porch with the boys who are putting up Halloween decorations.

My belly is slack with absent child. My hair looks full, pregnancy hair. I look okay. I am in the midst of the shattering.

I keep clicking back and back.

October 16

We held you for the first time. I didn't know what to do with my hands. I wasn't touching any part of you and I'm not even looking at you.

October 12

Your lips are bloodless in the OR.

completely white

as you are bagged

why, this fucking picture

October 10

Now the pictures are worse.

These are the bad ones,

prior to the event.

We are scooping out pumpkin guts.

I remember the hot kitchen

and the contractions

and how I made apple butter

and the way it was 100 degrees and our AC wasn't working and

yet the boys wanted fall and so I gave it to them with the smell of cloves in a crockpot and slimy pumpkin guts on their fingers,

the day before you were born --

or not born --

or almost not born --

I remember how I felt like such a good mom that day, carving pumpkins at 39 weeks pregnant.

Even then--were you not moving?

Were you bleeding, even then?

When did it start?

The hematologist yesterday said, "The best answer I can give you is: I don't know."

I stand up from the couch, shaky, after looking through those photos from too long ago.

I tell Justin, "I went back too far."

He hugs me and says, "Of course you did."


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page