top of page

3 weeks old, 3 days home


Today, at school drop off, another mom said, "Oh you had your baby! Congratulations!"

I said, "His name is Teddy!"

She said, "Oh my gosh, so cute! What's his birthday?"

"October 12!"

"And how are you feeling?"

"Oh I had a C-section this time but I feel good!"

"I love C-sections! I had one too."

"I thought the experience was kind of scary but the recovery has actually been easier, honestly."

"The numbness can last for 9-12 months, just don't be surprised. It freaked me out."

Then Sheamus said, "Teddy's home now."

The other mom looked at me curiously, and I just said in passing, "Oh yeah he spent some time in the NICU."

"Oh ok!" she said. "Congratulations on everything!"

It felt so good to just have someone be happy for us. And just be a postpartum woman and not talk about the horror, the horror, the horror, the horror, the horror, the horror, the horror, the horror, the horror, the horror, the dark and terrible horror

To just be a woman with a new baby snuggled against her chest

To just be a new mom with milk leaking

To just be hair frazzled, slightly stressed, getting the kids out to school, drinking my coffee

To just latch him on the breast and not remember the 15 days of pumping every 2-3 hours so that I had a supply for when he was ready

To just go to a birth circle and hold him tight

To just be in the company of other new moms

To just talk about diapering and waking up at night and burping and what kind of wipes are you using?

And I want to not have to talk about the watershed area and brain damage and how the part that's damaged codes for language and memory and maybe he'll be nonverbal and not able to remember anything

And not have to talk about his creatine levels and nephrology and not have to talk about CPAP and SPO2

To forget about the pump that went down his throat and pumped out the gas from his distended bowels

To forget about the edema that made his skin so shiny it looked like he was a balloon about to pop

To forget the words "ischemic bowels"

To forget the words "seizure activity"

To forget the nurse shining the flashlight in his nonresponsive eyes as his head lolled from side to side and his oxygenation went down to 70%

To forget the crowd of people around his incubator, him lying there nonresponsive, his hands thrown outwards in a crucifixion pose, alone

And the doctor with the devices of torture

intubating him

her large body braced against his small crib

for leverage

as she violently

forced her tools

down his throat

to make him breathe

his small perfect head

thrown back

his mouth wide open

his eyes closed

naked except for a Pampers swaddlers

and so many IV lines

I had been sitting right next to him in the wheelchair after the Cesarean

but they grabbed the wheelchair and tossed it backwards

I landed against the couch so far away

across the room

watching them

work on him

To forget that

I say to the mom at drop off, "He weighed seven pounds fifteen ounces!"

"Big boy! Three boys. Wow! I love his name! Theodore! How did you come up with that?"

"It means gift of God."

"So cute!"


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page